Skip to main content
Our biggest wine deals. Available by text! Join today!
Advertisement banner for

Back to Wine 101

Location: Beaujolais

By: Wine Library Staff

Learn about Beaujolais here!

Beaujolais is an area that is part of Burgundy but close to Lyon. It is famous for the Gamy grape which is thin-skinned and low in tannins. It is actually a large area that produces more wine than that of several regions of Burgundy put together. The area makes very high-quality wines from 10 regions that are known as Cru. 6 of the regions have wines meant to be consumed from 1 to 3-4 years. Unfortunately, most people will drink the wine within a week or two. Four of the 10 Crus have high-quality wines that require 4-10 years of aging. They are Chena, Jullenas, Morgon and Moulin-a- Vent.

In the 1980s, Beaujolais Nouveau became very popular. It is a wine that is harvested between late August and early September. It is fermented for just a few days and released to the public on the third Thursday of November - "Beaujolais Nouveau Day". The wines are meant to be drunk as young as possible, which is when they are at their freshest and fruitiest. Some feel they should be consumed by the end of the year.

To shop our wines from Beaujolais, click here!